Virginia's Judicial System

Louisa Circuit Court

16th Judicial Circuit of Virginia

Circuit Courts Informational Pamphlet


Hon. Patty Madison


Phone: (540) 967-5312
Judges: (540) 967-5300
Fax: (540) 967-2705

Clerk's Office Hours

8:30 AM - 5:00 PM


Box 37
100 W. Main Street
Louisa, VA 23093-0037


  • Hon. Timothy K. Sanner, Presiding Judge, Chief Judge
  • Hon. Dale B. Durrer
  • Hon. Cheryl V. Higgins
  • Hon. Richard E. Moore
  • Hon. Susan L. Whitlock
  • Hon. Claude V. Worrell Jr.

Terms of Court and General Information

  • Terms begin, 2nd Monday, Jan., March, July, Sept. & Nov.
  • Due to the mandatory Judicial Conference the May Term Day will be May 6, 2019
  • Due to a scheduling conflict the July Term Day will be July 15, 2019
  • Due to the Veterans Day Holiday the November Term Day will be November 4, 2019
  • Grand Juries, 1st day of Term.
  • All cases set on Term Day by praecipe filed 7 days prior.
  • Court convenes 9:30 a.m., except for Motions Day which begins at 9:00 a.m.
  • Commissioners in Chancery are rarely utilized and generally only by agreement of counsel.
  • Local rules adopted pursuant to Section 8.01-4.