Virginia's Judicial System

Smyth Circuit Court

28th Judicial Circuit of Virginia

Circuit Courts Informational Pamphlet


Hon. John H. Graham


Phone: (276) 782-4044
Fax: (276) 782-4045

Clerk's Office Hours

9:00 AM - 5:00 PM


109 West Main Street, Suite 1081
Marion, VA 24354


  • Hon. Deanis L. Simmons, Presiding Judge
  • Hon. Sage B. Johnson, Chief Judge
  • Hon. C. Randall Lowe

Terms of Court and General Information

  • Docket calls will no longer be used. The Court will proceed with the Praecipe System to be called on the opening day of the term as set forth in Rule 1:15 of the Supreme Court of Virginia.
  • Terms begin, 4th Tuesday, March, June, Sept., and 2nd Tuesday in Dec.
  • Grand Juries, 1st day of Term.
  • All cases set on Term Day or through contact with the Judge's office.
  • Court convenes 9:00 a.m.
  • Commissioners in Chancery are only used to review accountings of Special Commissioners.
  • Final orders are sent via email when an email address is known for attorneys. The court recommends that attorneys provide an email address when documents are filed.