Virginia's Judicial System

Westmoreland Circuit Court

15th Judicial Circuit of Virginia

Circuit Courts Informational Pamphlet


Hon. Gwynne J. Chatham


Phone: (804) 493-0108
Fax: (804) 493-0393

Clerk's Office Hours

9:00 AM - 5:00 PM


175 Polk Street
P. O. Box 307
Montross, VA 22520-0307


  • Hon. Charles S. Sharp, Chief Judge
  • Hon. Sarah L. Deneke
  • Hon. Joseph J. Ellis
  • Hon. J. Overton Harris
  • Hon. Herbert M. Hewitt
  • Hon. Patricia Kelly
  • Hon. Michael E. Levy
  • Hon. R. Michael McKenney
  • Hon. Ricardo Rigual
  • Hon. Gordon F. Willis
  • Hon. Victoria A. B. Willis

Terms of Court and General Information

  • All court convenes at 9:00 criminal and civil.
  • Criminal cases are set by agreement with Commonwealth's Attorney at preliminary hearing, on Term Day, or by agreement of counsel and the Court.
  • Terms are the 4th Friday of January, April, July and October.
  • In civil jury trials, instructions must be submitted to the Court and opposing counsel 5 days prior to trial.
  • Civil cases are set by the Clerk's Office.
  • Commissioners in Chancery are utilized in general chancery causes and divorces.