Virginia's Judicial System

Rockingham Circuit Court

26th Judicial Circuit of Virginia

Circuit Courts Informational Pamphlet


Hon. Chaz W. Evans-Haywood


Phone: (540) 564-3111
Fax: (540) 564-3127

Clerk's Office Hours

9:00 AM - 5:00 PM


80 Court Square
Harrisonburg, VA 22802


  • Hon. Thomas J. Wilson IV, Presiding Judge, Chief Judge
  • Hon. Bruce D. Albertson, Presiding Judge
  • Hon. Clifford Lynwood Athey Jr.
  • Hon. Dennis Lee Hupp
  • Hon. Ronald Lewis Napier
  • Hon. Clark Andrew Ritchie
  • Hon. John E. Wetsel Jr.

Terms of Court and General Information

  • Criminal terms begin, 3rd Monday, Jan., Apr., Jul., & Oct.
  • Motion Day, 1st Mon. and Wed. after 3rd Mon. each month
  • Misdemeanor appeals days, 2nd Mon. each month.
  • Grand Juries, 3rd Monday each month.
  • Praecipe must be filed not less than 7 days preceding Motion Day nor more than 30 days.
  • Court convenes 9:00 a.m.
  • Commissioners in Chancery are utilized.
  • Local Rules adopted pursuant to Section 8.01-4.