## NEWPORT NEWS GENERAL DISTRICT COURT COURT PAYMENT PLAN FOR THE COLLECTION OF FINES AND COSTS

Pursuant to Virginia Code §19.2-354 and Rule 1:24 of the Virginia Supreme Court, a Defendant convicted of a criminal or traffic offense who has fines and costs imposed by the Court, but is unable to make a payment within ninety (90) days of sentencing, shall be given a written notice that there are three (3) payment plans offered by the Court.

- 1. Installment Payment Plan: A Defendant may make monthly payments on a schedule until the full amount is paid by the date specified by the Court.
- 2. Deferred Payment Plan: A Defendant may pay the full amount by a later date specified by the Court.
- 3. Modified Deferred Payment Plan: A Defendant may make periodic payments until the full amount is paid by a later date specified by the Court.

The Court will take into account the Defendant's financial resources and obligations or indigent status by using a form provided by the Executive Secretary of the Supreme Court or by a colloquy with the Defendant, using Form DC-210, in determining the amount and length of time to pay.

The Defendant may petition the Court for an exception to these guidelines.

Fines and costs will not be sent to collections unless they are still outstanding after 90 days. Interest on outstanding fines and costs will not accrue unless they are still outstanding after 180 days. The Defendant is required to pay a ten dollar (\$10.00) fee for management of the Defendant's account. If a Defendant has fines and cost payable for more than one case, each case will be listed separately from earliest to latest in time, and payments will be applied in that order. Payment within ten (10) days of the due date will be considered timely. This policy also applies to Defendants tried in their absence. The trial in absence fee will be waived if the fines and costs are paid on or before the trial date. This policy does NOT apply to court ordered payments of restitution.

A Defendant may request additional time to pay if the initial length of time to pay is insufficient. A Clerk or Supervising Deputy Clerk may grant an extension. In granting the extension, the clerk will take into account the Defendant's financial resources and obligations or indigent status by using a form provided by the Executive Secretary of the Supreme Court or by a colloquy with the Defendant, using Form DC-210, in determining the extension.

A Defendant who is declared indigent, has been incarcerated or is unable to make substantial payments shall be given written notice that community service work may be used as credits towards payment of fines and costs, where and when available. A Defendant will be credited with \$12.00 for each hour of approved community service. A Defendant will not receive credit if he or she has been ordered to perform community service as a condition of a sentence, until the sentence of community service is satisfied. Only community service performed through the Court's established program may count toward the discharge of fines and costs. The Court may offer a Combined Payment Plan with an initial period when no payment is due, followed by a period of installment payments. Combined Payment Plans may not be limited only to the Defendants who are incarcerated.

A Defendant who defaults on the initial payment plan shall have the opportunity to request a new payment plan and will be required to make a down payment. If the fines and costs owed are less than five hundred dollars (\$500.00), the Defendant shall make a down payment equal to ten percent (10%) of the amount owed. If the fines and costs owed are greater than five hundred dollars (\$500.00), the Defendant shall make a down payment of fifty dollars (\$50.00) or an amount equal to five percent (5%) of the amount owed, whichever is greater. The Court should take into consideration the Defendant's change in circumstances in approving the request.