CHIEF JUSTICE
LEROY ROUNTREE HASSELL, SR.

JUSTICES
LAWRENCE L. KOONTZ, JR.
CYNTHIA D. KINSER
DONALD W. LEMONS
S. BERNARD GOODWYN
LEROY F. MILLETTE, JR.
WILLIAM C. MIMS

SENIOR JUSTICES
HARRY L. CARRICO
ROSCOE B. STEPHENSON, JR.
CHARLES S. RUSSELL

ELIZABETH B. LACY

SUPREME COURT OF VIRGINIA

IOO NORTH NINTH STREET
RICHMOND, VIRGINIA 23219-2334
(804) 786-6455

WWW.COURTS.STATE.VA.US

CLERK
PATRICIA L. HARRINGTON

EXECUTIVE SECRETARY
KARL R. HADE

CHIEF STAFF ATTORNEY
GREGORY E. LUCYK

REPORTER OF DECISIONS
KENT SINCLAIR

STATE LAW LIBRARIAN
GAIL WARREN

Press Release – August 31, 2010

Today, the Justices of the Supreme Court of Virginia elected Justice Cynthia Dinah Fannon Kinser as Chief Justice-elect. Chief Justice-elect Kinser, the first woman selected as a Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Virginia, will succeed Chief Justice Leroy Rountree Hassell, Sr., who has served two terms as Chief Justice and was not eligible pursuant to Court policy to serve another term.

Chief Justice-elect Kinser will assume office on February 1, 2011. She was born in Lee County, Virginia, where she currently resides. She was appointed to the Supreme Court of Virginia by former Governor George Allen in 1997, and subsequently twice elected as a Justice by the General Assembly. She received her undergraduate education from the University of Tennessee, where she graduated with honors. She attended law school at the University of Virginia, where she also graduated with honors.

Chief Justice-elect Kinser served as the Commonwealth's Attorney for Lee County, and she has also served as a United States Magistrate Judge. Current Chief Justice Hassell remarked that he is "confident that Chief Justice-elect Kinser will serve the Court as Chief Justice with the highest distinction."