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You have now been appointed and qualified1 as a Virginia guardian or conservator. Guardians 
and conservators are appointed by the court for adults whom the court finds lack the physical 
and/or mental capacity to care for themselves or their property. Because you must make 
important decisions regarding the adult’s personal and financial affairs, you should know how 
best to carry out these responsibilities. 
 
This guide is distributed through circuit court clerks to educate you as a court-appointed 
guardian or conservator – or you may be fulfilling both roles. The guide is also available online 
at https://www.guardian.vacourts.gov/. 
 
POWERS AND DUTIES OF GUARDIANS 

The Virginia General Assembly passed legislation in 2024 requiring guardians and any skilled 
professional they retain to assist with their duties (“skilled professionals”) to complete a 
training by the Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services (DARS). The online training is 
in development and will be implemented by July 1, 2025. Guardians appointed after July 1, 
2025, must complete the training within 120 days after the date of qualification. Current 
guardians will have until January 1, 2027, to complete the training.  
DARS – Mandatory Guardian Training 
 

1. Your powers include only those powers listed in your court order. 
 

2. As a guardian, you are in a fiduciary relationship with the person for whom you 
were appointed. You may be personally liable for a breach of any fiduciary duty. 
Fiduciary duties include acting only in the person’s best interest  and maintaining 
good records about how you fulfill your duties. You are not liable for any of the 
person’s actions, unless you are personally negligent. You do not need to spend 
your personal funds on the person’s behalf. You may be paid from the person’s 
money if the court has ordered it. 

 
3. Your duties and authority as a guardian do not extend to decisions addressed in 

a valid advance directive or durable power of attorney the person previously 
executed. You need to ask the court if you believe there is a need to change a 
durable power of attorney for finances or to appoint a different health care 
agent. Any modification of an advance directive may not in any way affect the 
person’s directives about medical treatments or procedures. 

 
4. You must have enough contact with the person to know about his or her 

capabilities, limitations, needs, support, and opportunities. Visit the person as 
often as necessary and keep track of your visits.    You must be sure that the 

 
1 Before you can legally become a guardian or conservator, you must take an oath that you will faithfully perform 
your duties and give a surety bond, if required by the court order.  This is called “qualifying”. 

https://www.guardian.vacourts.gov/
https://www.dars.virginia.gov/dcl/guardiantraining.htm#gsc.tab=0
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person receives visits at least three times every year. These visits must be made 
at least once every 120 days. As guardian, you must make two of these visits.  
One of your visits must be in person and one may be virtual. You may designate 
someone else to conduct the third visit, either in person or virtually.  It could be 
the person’s family member or friend whom you monitor, or it could be a skilled 
professional that you hire, with experience in the care of older individuals or  
Adults with disabilities.  If you designate someone to conduct the third visit, they 
must give you a written report.” 
 

5. You need court approval ahead of time: 
 

• to change the person’s residence to another state 
• to end or consent to the end of the person's parental rights 
• to change the person's marital status 

 
6. As guardian, you should encourage the person to participate in decisions, to act 

on his or her own behalf, and to develop or regain the ability to manage personal 
affairs. In making decisions, you need to consider the person’s expressed desires 
and personal values to the extent you can determine them. If you cannot 
determine those desires and values, you must act in the person's best interest 
and exercise your fiduciary duties with care, diligence, and prudence. 

 
7. As guardian you may restrict communication, visitation, or interaction of 

someone with whom the person has an established relationship, provided: 
 

1. The restriction is reasonable to prevent harm or financial exploitation, 
and, 

2. After you consider the person’s expressed wishes.   
 

You must give written notice of any restriction to the restricted person. You must 
also give a copy of the notice to the person you are serving, unless doing so 
would be detrimental to them. In the notice, you must describe the restriction, 
say why it is necessary, and explain how to challenge it.  A copy of the restriction 
must be provided to the local Department of Social Services and to the circuit 
court that appointed the guardianship.  If the person you are serving is in a 
hospital, convalescent home or nursing facility, you will also be required to 
inform the facility.  
 

8. You have the authority to arrange for the funeral and disposition of remains, 
including cremation, interment, entombment, inurnment, or scattering of the 
ashes. You should make a good faith effort to locate the person’s next of kin to 
make such arrangements. Good faith effort means contacting the next of kin 
listed in the guardianship petition. You cannot be held liable for the decisions 
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you make regarding the body disposition unless you acted in bad faith or 
malicious intent. 

 
9. You must mail or deliver an annual report to the local department of social 

services where the person lives. This report should be completed and submitted 
to the local department of social services four months after appointment as the 
guardian and annually thereafter. Use the fillable form (CC-1644) and 
instructions provided by the Office of the Executive Secretary of the Virginia 
Supreme Court located at:  
https://www.vacourts.gov/forms/circuit/fiduciary.html. A copy of the report 
form and a sample are also included with this guide. The annual report must be 
filed with the local department of social services for the jurisdiction where the 
person lives. A list of local departments, addresses and contact information are 
at:   http://www.dss.virginia.gov/localagency/index.cgi. Remember to date and 
sign the report before mailing to the local department of social services, and you 
must certify that the annual report is true and correct.   

 
10. You must also mail or deliver a final report to the local department of social 

services where the person lives when the guardianship ends. 
 

11. Your order of appointment will include a date set for a periodic review hearing, 
to be held no later than one year after the initial appointment and no later than 
every three years thereafter, unless waived by the court. If the court has ordered 
a review hearing, it will appoint a guardian ad litem to investigate and file a 
report before the hearing date. 

 
POWERS AND DUTIES OF CONSERVATORS 

1. As a conservator, you are in a fiduciary relationship with the person for whom 
you were appointed. Fiduciary duties include acting only in the person’s best 
interest, carefully managing any assets you are responsible for, keeping your 
funds separate from the person’s funds, and maintaining good records about 
how you fulfill your duties. You may be personally liable for a breach of any 
fiduciary duty.  You are not liable for any of the person’s actions, unless you are 
personally negligent. You do not need to spend your personal funds on the 
person’s behalf. 
 

2. Unless there are restrictions in the conservatorship order, you must take care of 
and preserve the person’s estate and manage it to the person’s best 
advantage. You should use the person’s income and assets to pay the person’s 
debts, including bills for the person’s care and any of the person’s legal 
dependents. If you make investments, seek advice from a financial professional 
to be sure you are investing according to Virginia legal requirements. Do not 

https://www.vacourts.gov/forms/circuit/fiduciary.html
http://www.dss.virginia.gov/localagency/index.cgi
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hesitate to seek legal advice from an elder law attorney about the correct way to 
use any funds.   

 
3. The Commissioner of Accounts is an attorney appointed by the judge of each 

circuit court to provide general supervision of all fiduciaries. A list of 
Commissioners of Accounts, by jurisdiction and alphabetically by name, is at:  
https://www.vacourts.gov/courts/circuit/resources/coa/home.html. 

 
4. You should encourage the person to participate in decisions, to act on his or her 

own behalf, and to develop or regain the ability to manage financial matters. In 
making any financial decision, you should consider: 

 
o the person’s wishes and values 
o the person’s accustomed manner of living and quality of life 
o the overall amount of available funds 
o how long you expect the conservatorship to last 
o other available resources  
o the guardian’s recommendations  

 
5. To avoid being personally liable on a contract you sign on behalf of the person, 

the contract must specifically state that you are not personally responsible, or 
you must state that you are signing the contract as a conservator for the person. 
It is good practice to sign any legal document as “[Your name] as conservator for 
[person’s name].” 

 
6. Once you are appointed, you have the following powers in managing the 

person's money and property. You may exercise these powers without getting 
prior authorization from the court, unless the court’s order says otherwise: 

 
• To sign documents and take all other actions that serve the person’s best 

interests 
• To ratify or reject a contract the person signed 
• To pay money that is for the person’s benefit or for the benefit of a legal 

dependent, to the following parties: 
a. A provider of goods and services 
b. An individual or facility that provides care 
c. The distributee or distributee's custodian under Uniform Gifts or 

Transfers to Minors Acts  
d. The person’s guardian or a dependent's guardian or conservator 

• To maintain life, health, casualty, and liability insurance for the benefit of 
the person, or legal dependents 

• To initiate a proceeding to revoke a power of attorney, if circumstances 
deem necessary for the well-being of the person  

https://www.vacourts.gov/courts/circuit/resources/coa/home.html
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• To borrow, to obtain a mortgage to secure loans, and to renew existing 
loans 

• To manage the money and property after the conservatorship ends until 
you deliver it to the person or the person’s estate. 

7. Before you sell real estate, the court may require you to: 
 

• Increase the amount of your bond 
• Get an appraisal of the real estate or interest 
• Give notice to interested parties 
• Consult with the Commissioner of Accounts and the guardian, if one has 

been appointed 
 

You must report to the Commissioner of Accounts how you have met these 
requirements. The court order typically requires approval of a sale before it can 
close. The Commissioner of Accounts reviews the proposed sale contract for 
reasonableness, reviews the bond based on the proceeds to be received and files a 
written report with the clerk of court. Once the report is filed, it is confirmed 
fifteen (15) days after filing if no one files exceptions. The closing cannot occur 
until the report is confirmed.   

 
8. If the person is receiving Social Security benefits, you have no authority as 

conservator to manage these funds.  You must apply to Social Security through a 
separate process to be appointed as a representative payee in order to manage 
these funds. Information on Representative Payees may be found at 
https://www.ssa.gov/payee.  Please note that a guardian or conservator is not 
automatically selected as a representative payee for a Social Security beneficiary.  
Other governmental agencies such as the Department of Veterans Affairs have 
similar processes. 
 

9. Your order of appointment will include a date set for a periodic review hearing, 
to be held no later than one year after the initial appointment and no later than 
every three years thereafter, unless waived by the court. If the court has ordered 
a review hearing, it will appoint a guardian ad litem to investigate and file a 
report before the hearing date. 

  
WHOM TO NOTIFY OF YOUR APPOINTMENT 
 

1. Send a copy of your letters of qualification as Conservator to every bank, 
brokerage firm, agency from which annuities are sent, and any other appropriate 
entity with a letter stating who you are, your address, and requesting future 
payments be sent to you as conservator. 

https://www.ssa.gov/payee
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2. If the person owns a car or a house, notify the insurance companies to send any 
future billings to you. 

 Tell the insurance company if the house is vacant as the company may 
require an additional premium to insure a vacant home. 

 If the person is no longer driving but owns a car, you need to decide 
whether to cancel the insurance or change its coverage until the car is no 
longer owned by the person. 

IDENTIFY CONSERVATORSHIP ASSETS 
 

1. If the person is unable to tell you about his or her assets, you may find it helpful 
to look in checkbook registers for sources of income or old tax returns, for bank 
statements and other investment information.  

 
2. Determine how each asset is titled – were the assets solely owned or joint with 

someone? If the assets were jointly owned, then with whom, and were the funds 
all contributed by the person or was a percentage contributed by each joint 
owner? Did the account have a pay on death clause? 

 
3. Vehicles – those titled solely in the person's name are considered a 

conservatorship asset. 
 

4. Furniture –  if the person shares the home with a spouse or family member, the 
furniture is not usually considered a conservatorship asset under your control. 

 
5. Jewelry – if the person is wearing it, do not consider it as being under your 

control as a conservator asset. If there is other valuable jewelry that would be in 
jeopardy if you don't take control of it, inventory it and put it in a safe place. 

 
PUT ASSETS INTO CONSERVATORSHIP NAME 
 

1. Change the titles to every account or asset to "[your name], Conservator for 
[person's name]." 

2. Do not use your own Social Security number on conservatorship assets, use the 
person's Social Security number. 

3. Assets held jointly with a spouse should be split 50/50, and half will go into the 
conservatorship. Likewise, half of the income earned from joint assets earned 
after the date of qualification should be deposited into the conservatorship 
account. 
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4. Pay on death (P.O.D.) and transfer on death (T.O.D.) accounts or assets should 
be left in the person's name until you need to use those assets for the person's 
benefit. If those funds are needed, withdraw the funds and deposit them into 
the conservatorship checking account. Tell the bank or holder of the asset to 
send you all statements and 1099's. You should always try to maintain the 
character of any P.O.D. or T.O.D asset so that the person’s wishes will be 
honored at death. 

5. Other jointly owned assets should be reported in the percentage the person 
contributed. 

6. Stocks or investments that have not reached maturity can be left as titled as long 
as the co-owner agrees to cooperate with you as Conservator and permit you to 
hold the original documents. 

CONSERVATORSHIP CHECKING ACCOUNT 
 

1. Choose a Virginia bank to open the conservatorship checking account. Use only a 
bank account that returns the original or photocopies of checks, or that allows 
copies of cashed checks to be viewed and printed online. If you will be keeping 
more than $1,000 in the checking account, open an account that pays interest. 

2. You are required to submit cancelled checks and/or signed receipts to the 
Commissioner of Accounts for every disbursement you make as Conservator. 
Should your bank fail to send you a statement or proof of cancelled checks, call 
them as soon as you are aware of the situation. Delaying your request for 
missing statements or proof of cancelled checks may result in service charges by 
your bank. 

3. You should deposit all income for the person into the conservatorship checking 
account and make all disbursements from this account. You may invest assets 
elsewhere, but your record keeping will be greatly simplified if all transactions 
pass through this one account. 

This does not mean you should not invest in certificates of deposits or buy 
Treasury Bills, etc. Just deposit the proceeds from matured, redeemed, or sold 
assets into the checking account and then purchase new assets from the same 
account. 

INVENTORY OF ASSETS 
 

1. You must file an inventory of the assets of the person's estate with the 
Commissioner of Accounts within four months from the date of qualification. A 
link for contact information for Commissioners of Accounts is provided on page 4 
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of this guide. The Clerk will have given you an inventory form at the time of your 
qualification that includes detailed instructions for completing the form, but 
Form CC-1671 INVENTORY FOR ESTATE OF INCAPACITATED ADULT and instructions may 
also be found on Virginia’s Judicial System website at 
https://www.vacourts.gov/forms/circuit/fiduciary.html. These forms may be 
filled out online and printed for filing. A copy of this form and a sample form are 
also included with this guide. 

2. Use exact figures on your Inventory valuations. Do not round figures. Use the 
beginning values as of the date of your qualification, not the values as of the day 
you complete the Inventory. 

3. Inventories must be printed legibly in black or blue ink or typewritten and signed 
by each qualified Conservator. 

4. You must submit two copies of the signed Inventory form with the appropriate 
filing fee to the Commissioner of Accounts office. The Clerk will have given you a 
filing fee schedule at the time you qualified. 

5. You may mail the Inventory and check for the filing fee to the Commissioner of 
Accounts Office. If you wish to file in person, you should make an appointment 
ahead of time. An appointment can sometimes be made with as little as one 
day's notice. 

6. Each Conservator must supply the Commissioner of Accounts with telephone 
numbers, and complete, current street address. If you use a Post Office Box for 
mail, a street address must also be provided. It is your responsibility to keep the 
Commissioner of Accounts informed of your current street address. 

ACCOUNTINGS 
 

1. Every Conservator must file an account of the person’s assets under your control 
with the Commissioner of Accounts. You must certify that your accounting is true 
and accurate, and that all probate taxes have been paid.  The Clerk will have 
given you an accounting form at the time of your qualification that includes 
detailed instructions for completing the form, but Form CC-1682 ACCOUNT FOR 
INCAPACITATED ADULT and instructions may also be found on Virginia’s Judicial 
System website at https://www.vacourts.gov/forms/circuit/fiduciary.html. These 
forms may be filled out online and printed for filing. A copy of this form and a 
sample form is also included with this guide. 

2. The first Account should cover the first four-month period, beginning on the date 
of the Conservator's qualification. This account must be filed with the 
Commissioner of Accounts within six months from the date of qualification. For 

http://www.vacourts.gov/forms/circuit/cc1671.pdf
https://www.vacourts.gov/forms/circuit/fiduciary.html
http://www.vacourts.gov/forms/circuit/cc1682.pdf
http://www.vacourts.gov/forms/circuit/cc1682.pdf
https://www.vacourts.gov/forms/circuit/fiduciary.html
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example, if you qualified on January 10, 2019, the first Account would cover the 
period January 10, 2019 through May 10, 2019, and it would be due on July 10, 
2019. 

3. Second and subsequent accountings are to cover the 12 months beginning with 
the ending date of the prior Account. They are due within 16 months from the 
ending date of your prior Account. For example, if the first Account ended May 
10, 2019, then the Second Account would end May 10, 2020, and would be due 
by September 10, 2020. You may end your account on any day of the month. For 
example, instead of ending it May 10, you may end it May 31. 

4. You must include the following with every accounting:  

• Original and one copy of the Account signed by each Conservator if more 
than one are qualified. 

• A check payable to the Commissioner of Accounts in the appropriate amount 
for the filing fee. The Clerk will have given you the filing fee schedule when 
you qualified. 

• Vouchers for all disbursements shown on the account which include the 
original cancelled checks, debit memos, or signed receipts. These will be 
returned to you. If you use a bank that does not return cancelled checks, you 
must have a signed receipt from the payee, or a photocopy of the check 
prepared by the bank. Vouchers must be organized in the same order as they 
appear on the accounting. Vouchers do not need to be filed in duplicate. 

• A copy of the signed settlement sheet for any sale of real estate and 
brokerage statement to support any sale of stocks or other securities. 

• Verification of each asset that remains on hand as of the end of the 
accounting period must be provided, as follows:  

 When there are cash accounts, a statement from the financial 
institution covering the ending date of the accounting and reconciled 
to agree with your accounting. 

 When there are certificates of deposit, a statement from the financial 
institution, or the original certificate, or a letter from the issuer 
verifying the existence of the certificate as of the ending date of the 
account and stating the balance of the certificate. 

 When there are brokerage accounts, a statement that verifies stocks, 
bonds, and other securities or funds held. If you hold securities in 
certificate form, you must exhibit the original certificates to the 
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Commissioner of Accounts or provide a statement from a bank officer 
certifying the original certificates of each security listed were 
exhibited to the bank officer on or after the ending date of the 
accounting. 

 Titles for cars, boats, etc., should be exhibited to the Commissioner of 
Accounts. Jewelry and furnishings carried as assets under the 
Conservator's control can be supported by a statement from a 
disinterested third party certifying the existence and the location of 
the assets. The statement by the third party should include the 
party’s printed name, address, and daytime phone number. 

 Original notes must be exhibited to the Commissioner of Accounts 
unless a collection agency is handling the collection of the notes. If so, 
a statement from the collecting agency certifying the identity of the 
holder and the principal balance as of the ending date of the account 
will be accepted. 

 Copies of K-l forms from the tax returns may be used to verify any 
partnership interests. 

 If the market value of the asset is not equal to the carrying value, 
show the market value in parentheses within the asset description 

5. You must file a Final Account upon the person’s death or upon entry of a court 
order restoring the person's competency. The final account must show ZERO 
assets on hand. You may not hold any assets in escrow for any reason 
whatsoever. 

6. Any assets remaining at the termination of a conservatorship should be 
delivered to the qualified fiduciary of the estate if the person died, or to the 
person when declared competent. 

7. All original vouchers will be returned to you or your representative after the 
completion of the Commissioner's audit. 

8. Accounts must be printed legibly in black or blue ink or typewritten. 

9. You may mail the Account and check for the filing fee to the Commissioner of 
Accounts Office. If you wish to file in person, you should make an appointment 
ahead of time. An appointment can sometimes be made with as little as one 
day's notice.  
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DISBURSEMENTS 
 

1. You may use principal and income for the benefit of the person. You may also 
contribute funds towards the support and maintenance of the person's spouse 
and/or family. 

2. Costs of maintaining real property are properly paid from the conservatorship 
funds. 

3. If you must use cash to pay for something, obtain a signed receipt for it. You may 
find it convenient to occasionally pay small expenses yourself and then write a 
conservatorship check to yourself for reimbursement. 

INVESTMENTS  
 

1. As Conservator, you are responsible for the careful investment of funds under 
your control. You must make such investments within four months from the time 
you collect such funds.   

2. Virginia Code § 64.2-1502 provides a listing of securities in which a Conservator 
may invest. Some examples of approved investments are bonds, notes and other 
evidences of indebtedness of Virginia, a Virginia county, a Virginia city, or the 
United States as well as savings accounts, time deposits or certificates of deposit 
in banks, savings banks, trust company, savings and loan association, or credit 
unions authorized to do business in Virginia that are insured by the Federal 
Deposit Insurance Corporation or the National Credit Union Share Insurance 
Fund. 

3. For investments not approved by Va. Code § 64.2-1502, investments must be 
made in good faith, using intelligent and practical reasoning. 

4. You may be personally liable for loss of assets. 

5. You may not invest conservatorship monies in unsecured notes or buy real 
estate or lend money to yourself. 

6. Be sure to title all investments properly, i.e. "Your name, Conservator for 
Person's Name." 

7. Do not make any conservatorship asset joint with you or anyone else. The 
conservatorship funds belong only to the person and must be listed with the 
Conservator's name and title. Combining the person’s funds with yours, or 
someone else’s, results in confusion and potential liability. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/64.2-1502/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/64.2-1502/
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ESTATE PLANNING 
 

1. You must get Court authority to make gifts from the person’s estate, to disclaim 
property, or to create a revocable or irrevocable trust on behalf of the person. 
This authority may be given in the order appointing the Conservator or by 
petition in a separate proceeding. If there is a separate proceeding, you must 
give notice as required and a guardian ad litem must be appointed to represent 
the person’s interests. 

2. The Court may determine 1) any amounts, recipients, and proportions of any 
gifts of the estate, 2) any disclaimers, 3) whether good cause exists to create a 
trust or transfer assets,  or 4) whether to approve the trust created.  

3. You may make arrangements for the person’s funeral and burial. Virginia Code § 
54.1-2820, however, has many requirements that must be met. Before you 
proceed with making these arrangements, be sure the funeral home's contract 
meets the requirements of Virginia law. 

COMPENSATION FOR CONSERVATORS 
 

1. You are entitled to "reasonable compensation" for the services you provide in 
administering a conservatorship. There is no specific definition of "reasonable 
compensation". Unless there are unusual circumstances, the Commissioner will 
allow a fee based on the Uniform Fee Schedule Guideline, which provides for the 
following: 
 
Income - 5% of all non-investment receipts (Social Security, retirement 
payments, etc.) accounted for during each accounting period. No compensation 
is allowed on receipts such as interest, dividends, capital gain distributions, or 
capital gains on sales. 
 
Principal - A fee based upon the market value of the assets brought forward from 
the Inventory or prior account in accordance with the following schedule: 

 
First $500,000 1% (.01) 
Next $500,000 ¾ of 1% (.0075) 
Over $1,000,000 (up to $9,999,999.99) ½ of 1% (.005)  
$10,000,000 or more -by agreement with the Commissioner (prior 
consultation is required). 
 
 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/54.1-2820/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/54.1-2820/
http://www.courts.state.va.us/courts/circuit/resources/coa_fee_schedule.pdf
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SURETY BOND COVERAGE 
 

1. The Court determines the amount of your personal bond and whether you must 
obtain surety on that bond. 

 
2. If the Court requires you to obtain a surety bond, you will pay an insurance 

company a premium to ensure that you will properly discharge your duties as a 
Conservator. The amount of the surety bond must be enough to cover the assets 
you are responsible for and will also include 12 months of anticipated income. 

 
3. The Commissioner of Accounts reports to the Court if the surety bond is 

insufficient. After reviewing your Inventory and each interim Account, the 
Commissioner will send you a letter setting out the amount the bond will be 
increased necessary to cover the existing assets and anticipated income. A copy 
of the letter is sent to the Clerk of the Court and to the insurance company. 

 
4.  You may request a reduction of the amount of the surety bond when you file 

your Inventory or Account which shows that assets on hand, plus anticipated 
income, are less than the current surety bond coverage. 

 
FAILURE TO PROPERLY FILE INVENTORY OR ACCOUNTS 
 

Should you fail to file the required Inventory or Account within the required deadlines, 
or any approved extension, the following actions may result: 

 
1. The Commissioner of Accounts will issue a summons that will be served to you 

by the Sheriff of your locality. The summons gives you 30 days from the date of 
service to file the required report with the Commissioner of Accounts. 

2. If you do not meet the deadline for filing the Inventory or Account, the 
Commissioner of Accounts will request the Judge to issue a Rule to Show Cause 
against you. The Show Cause summons will also be served by the Sheriff and you 
will be required to appear in Court to explain to the Judge why you have not filed 
the required report and why you should not be removed as the Conservator. 

3. If you do not settle your accounts as required by Virginia law, you will forfeit your 
commissions unless the Commissioner of Account finds good cause for your 
failure to do so. 

4. Fees for the issuance of the summons and Rule to Show Cause, as well as any 
costs for court appearances by the Commissioner of Accounts, will be paid by 
you personally and will not be paid with funds in the Conservatorship. 
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5. If you are an attorney, the Commissioner of Accounts must send a copy of his 
report the Virginia State Bar in addition to sending a copy to the Court. 

 
MODIFICATION/TERMINATION OF GUARDIANSHIP/CONSERVATORSHIP 

Your appointment as guardian or conservator may end or be changed for several 
reasons:  

 
1. Your appointment ends the day the person is deceased.  

 
2. The court may remove you as Guardian or Conservator if it finds you are not 

acting in the best interests of the person or the person’s estate.  
 

3. The court may modify the guardianship or conservatorship order to provide you 
with more authority or less authority, given the current needs and circumstances 
of the person.  
 

4. The court may terminate the guardianship or conservatorship order if it finds the 
person no longer needs a Guardian or Conservator. Upon the petition of the 
person, the Guardian or Conservator, or on the Court’s own motion, and after a 
hearing is held, the Court may declare the person “restored to capacity.” A 
restoration to capacity means the person regains the rights lost by the original 
appointment.  

 
Upon any termination of appointment, you are required to file a final Account with the 
Commissioner of Accounts. 

 
  



YOU’VE BEEN APPOINTED:  INFORMATION FOR VIRGINIA GUARDIANS AND CONSERVATORS  
 PAGE 17  
 

 
Office of the Executive Secretary Department of Judicial Services 
                                                                                                                                                                                             Rev: 2/25 

AVAILABLE RESOURCES  

VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT FOR AGING AND 
REHABILITATIVE SERVICES (DARS) 

 
8004 Franklin Farms Drive 
Henrico, VA 23229-5019 
 
(804) 662-7000/ Toll Free: 1-800-
552-5019 
Email:  dars@dars.virginia.gov 
Website:  http://www.vadars.org 

The Department for Aging and Rehabilitative 
Services, in collaboration with community 
partners, provides and advocates for resources 
and services to improve the employment, 
quality of life, security, and independence of 
older Virginians, Virginians with disabilities, and 
their families. 

DIVISION FOR AGING SERVICES OF THE VIRGINIA 
DARS 
 

1610 Forest Avenue, Suite 100 
Henrico, VA 23229-5019 
 
(804) 662-9333/ Toll Free: 1-800-
552-3402 
 
Website:  
http://www.vda.virginia.gov/ 

A network of 25 local agencies, called Area 
Agencies on Aging or AAAs, provides most of 
the services for seniors in Virginia communities. 
Each AAA in Virginia serves a specific territory 
of counties and cities that share common 
geographic, demographic, and economic 
boundaries.  
 
To find out what services are offered in your 
community, you can use a map on the Office for 
Aging Services website:  
http://www.vda.virginia.gov/ 

VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES 
 
 
 

LOCAL DEPARTMENT LISTING - VIRGINIA 
DEPARTMENTS OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Va. Code § 64.2-2020 requires the guardian to 
file an annual report with the local department 
of social services for the jurisdiction where the 
person lives. To find your local department of 
social services, you can use the search options 
on the VDSS’s website. 

https://vadars.org/
http://www.vda.virginia.gov/
http://www.vda.virginia.gov/
https://www.dss.virginia.gov/localagency/index.html
https://www.dss.virginia.gov/localagency/index.html
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/64.2-2020/
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NATIONAL GUARDIANSHIP ASSOCIATION 
 
 

174 Crestview Drive 
Bellefonte, Pa 16823-8516 
(877) 326-5992 
 
Website:  www.guardianship.org 

NGA is a membership organization for 
guardians, conservators, fiduciaries, judges, and 
court personnel across the United States who 
are interested in providing quality guardianship 
services.  It provides multiple educational 
opportunities and resources for guardians. 
NGA’s Ethical Principles and Standards of 
Practice are tools to help guardians and 
conservators ethically carry out their 
responsibilities. You can download them for 
free on the NGA website. Fundamentals of 
Guardianship, a training manual and desk 
reference, is available on amazon.com. 

COMMISSIONERS OF ACCOUNTS 
 
Henrico County Commissioner of 
Accounts Website:  
http://www.henricocommissionerofa
ccounts.com/ 
 
Fairfax County Commissioner of 
Accounts Website: 
https://www.fairfaxcommissionerofa
ccounts.org/open/page.page?shortn
ame=resource.home 

The Henrico and Fairfax County Commissioners 
of Accounts websites are provided as resources 
only.  As conservator, you should consult with 
the Commissioner of Accounts for the Circuit 
Court in which you qualified.   

 

FORMS 

Form CC-1644, Report of Guardian for an Incapacitated Person 
Form CC-1644, Sample Report of Guardian of an Incapacitated Person 
Form CC-1645, Notice of Restriction by Guardian 
Form CC-1646, Petition for Review Hearing (Guardian and/or Conservator) 
Form CC-1671, Inventory for Estate of Incapacitated Adult 
Instructions for CC-1671, Inventory for Estate of Incapacitated Adult 
Form CC-1682, Account for Incapacitated Adult 
Instructions and Sample Form CC-1682, Account for Incapacitated Adult 
Instructions for CC-1682, Account for Incapacitated Adult 

https://www.guardianship.org/
http://www.henricocommissionerofaccounts.com/
http://www.henricocommissionerofaccounts.com/
https://www.fairfaxcommissionerofaccounts.org/open/page.page?shortname=resource.home
https://www.fairfaxcommissionerofaccounts.org/open/page.page?shortname=resource.home
https://www.fairfaxcommissionerofaccounts.org/open/page.page?shortname=resource.home
https://www.vacourts.gov/forms/circuit/cc1644.pdf
https://www.vacourts.gov/forms/circuit/cc1644_samp.pdf
https://www.vacourts.gov/static/forms/circuit/cc1645.pdf
https://www.vacourts.gov/static/forms/circuit/cc1646.pdf
https://www.vacourts.gov/forms/circuit/cc1671.pdf
https://www.vacourts.gov/forms/circuit/cc1671inst.pdf
https://www.vacourts.gov/forms/circuit/cc1682.pdf
https://www.vacourts.gov/forms/circuit/cc1682inst.pdf
https://www.vacourts.gov/forms/circuit/cc1682.pdf
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REPORTING TIMEFRAME CHART 

 

Guardianship 
For Incapacitated Adult - 

File with Local Department of Social Services 

Conservatorship 
For Incapacitated Adult - 

File with Court Commissioner of Accounts 

Within 

4 Months 
From Date of 
Qualification 

 Inventory for Incapacitated Adult Form 
CC-1671 

Within 

6 Months 
From Date of 
Qualification 

Report of Guardian for an 
Incapacitated Adult Form CC-1644  

*This first report covers the first four months from date of 
qualification. All subsequent reports shall each cover a 

twelve-month period of time. 

Account for Incapacitated Adult 
Form CC-1682 

*This first accounting covers the first four months from date 
of qualification. All subsequent accountings shall each cover 

a twelve-month period of time. 

Within 

4 Months 
From Ending Date of 
Current Annual 12 

Month Period  

Report of Guardian for an 
Incapacitated Adult Form CC-1644  

*An annual report is due within four months following each 
twelve-month period being accounted for. 

Account for Incapacitated Adult Form 
CC-1682 

* This accounting is due within four months following each 
twelve-month period being accounted for. 

A final report must be filed when a Guardianship ends. 
A final accounting must be filed when a Conservatorship ends. 

 
Note: The first accounting of a conservator for an incapacitated adult shall be filed with the Commissioner of Accounts within six months from 
the date of qualification of the conservator (covering the first four-month time period from the date of qualification. For example, if the 
qualification took place on July 1, 2019, then the first accounting would cover the time period of July 1, 2019 through October 31, 2019, and the 
due date for filing would be December 31, 2019. The second and subsequent accounting would cover the time period November 1, 2019 
through October 31, 2020 , and the due date for filing would be March 1, 2021, etc. This example also applies to the filing of reports of 
Guardians for Incapacitated Adults. 
 
Note: The conservator should check with the Commissioner of Accounts regarding the Commissioner of Accounts' and Circuit Court Clerk's fees 
on Accountings. The conservator should also check with the Commissioner of Accounts regarding the number of copies of Accountings which 
are required to be filed. 
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