VIRGINIA: IN THE JUVENILE AND DOMESTIC RELATIONS DISTRICT COURT FOR THE COUNTIES
OF GLOUCESTER, MATHEWS AND MIDDLESEX

ORDER

Effective July 1, 2024, pursuant to the provisions of VA Code §19.2-354, §19.2-354.1, §19.2-358, and Supreme Court Rule 1:24, this
Court authorizes the Clerk to approve Payment Agreements in accordance with the following established guidelines approved by the
Supreme Court of Virginia.

o At any time during an agreement, a defendant may request a modification of the agreement in writing on the DC-211.
Modifications may be granted based on good faith showing of need.

o All delinquent accounts, 91 days or older, are reported and sent to collection, at which time a fee of 17% is assessed.

o Payments may be made in person, by phone or on-line. A 4% fee is charged if a credit card or debit card is used to make
a payment.

Community Service in Lieu of Fines and Costs:

e Any person owing restitution, interest on restitution, Guardian ad Litem fees, or any collection fee is not eligible for community
service,

e Community Service in lieu of fines and costs is available and will be completed through the Local Probation & Pretrial Services
Office (adults) or Juvenile Services (juveniles). You will need to report immediately to Local Probation or Juvenile Services in
order to set the terms and conditions of the community service.

e Upon completion of community service, written verification must be received from Local Probation or Juvenile Services prior to
your due date in order to credit your account. '

Social Security Recipients:

o If your only source of income is a social security benefit or supplemental security income, you are exempt from making payments
until you have another resource or income.

e It is your responsibility to notify the Court of your income status in order to receive this exemption. You must fill out the necessary
paperwork in the Clerk’s Office so that your case will not be sent to collections.

o Restitution and Guardian ad Litem fees are not included in this exemption and are due as the Court ordered.

Deferred and Modified Deferred Payment Agreements:

e Deferred Payment Agreements are only available if the account is not past due.

¢ A DC-210 must be completed by the defendant in person at the Clerk’s Office.

» A one-time $10.00 Time to Pay fee will be assessed on accounts older than 90 days.

e The Clerk or designee may approve the payment agreement for any dollar amount.

o The Clerk or designee may approve a payment agreement for any length of time based upon on a defendant’s financial resources '
and obligations provided orally or in the DC-211.

¢ Any returned payment from the bank will cause the payment agreement to default.

Installment Payment Agreement*:

o A DC-210 must be completed in person. (*If you do not reside in the Commonwealth of Virginia or are more than 50 miles from the
courthouse, you may request this be mailed to you. Your signature must be notarized. This form must be received in the clerk’s .
office before the agreement can be implemented.)

e A one-time $10.00 Time to Pay fee will be assessed if not done previously upon entering into the agreement when the account is
older than 90 days.

e Payments are due each month. If not paid within ten days of the due date, the Installment Payment Agreement will default.

o The Clerk or designee may approve the payment agreement for any dollar amount.

e The Clerk or designee may approve a payment agreement for any length of time based upon on a defendant’s financial resources

and obligations provided orally or in the DC-211.

Any returned payment from the bank will cause the payment agreement to default.

Entered: 07/01/2024

*If you default on your payment agreement, the Court will consider a request to into a subsequent payment agreement based
on a change in circumstances. If granted, a down payment will be required as follows: $500.00 or less — 10% of the amount

owed, $501.00 or more — 5% of the amount owed or $50.00, whichever is greater.
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NOTICE REGARDING COMMUNITY SERVICE
IN LIEU OF PAYMENT OF FINES/COSTS

Community service may be completed in lieu of payment of fines and
costs under the following terms and conditions:

e Community service will be completed through Local Probation &
Pretrial Services (adults) or Juvenile Services (juveniles).

o Credit is earned at the rate of $12.00 per hour.

o After completing paperwork in the Clerk’s Office, you will need to
report immediately to Local Probation & Pretrial Services or
Juvenile Services in order to set the terms and conditions of the
community service.

e Upon completion of community service, written verification must
be received from Local Probation & Pretrial Services or Juvenile
Services prior to your due date in order to credit your account.

e Any person owing restitution, interest on restitution, Guardian ad
Litem fees or any collection fee is not eligible for community
service. Community Service is not available for restoration of a
driver’s license.

o Please contact the Clerk’s Office if you are interested in this
option.



