## Commonwealth of Virginia Commission on Mental Health Law Reform

## **Commissioners**

Chair

Richard J. Bonnie
Harrison Foundation Professor of Medicine and Law
Hunton & Williams Research Professor
Professor of Psychiatry and Neurobehavioral Sciences
Director of Institute of Law, Psychiatry and Public Policy
University of Virginia School of Law
Charlottesville, VA

Honorary Co-Chair

The Honorable William T. Bolling Lieutenant Governor of Virginia Richmond, VA

Members

Ronald A. Allison Executive Director Cumberland Mountain Community Services Cedar Bluff, VA

Jack W. Barber, M.D. Director Western State Hospital Staunton, VA

Mark Bodner, Esquire Special Justice Fairfax, VA

Victoria Huber Cochran, J.D. Cochran Consulting and Facilitation Services Blacksburg, VA

Patrick W. Finnerty
Director
Department of Medical Assistance Services
Richmond, VA

Vicky Mitchell Fisher, Ph.D., RN, APRN Director of Nursing Catawba Hospital Roanoke, VA

The Honorable Isaac St. C. Freeman Judge Smyth County Circuit Court Marion, VA

Terry Grimes, Ed.D. President Empowerment for Healthy Minds Blacksburg, VA

Karl R. Hade Executive Secretary Supreme Court of Virginia Richmond, VA

Charles A. Hall, M.Ed., CAS Executive Director Hampton-Newport News Community Services Board Newport News, VA

Jane D. Hickey, Esquire Senior Assistant Attorney General and Chief of Health Services Section Office of the Attorney General Richmond, VA

The Honorable Gerald S. Holt Sheriff Roanoke County Salem, VA

The Honorable Janet D. Howell Senator, District 32 Senate of Virginia Reston, VA

The Honorable Catherine M. Hudgins Fairfax County Board of Supervisors Reston, VA The Honorable Terry G. Kilgore, Esquire Delegate, 1st District House of Delegates Gate City, VA

The Honorable L. Louise Lucas Senator, District 18 Senate of Virginia Portsmouth, VA

Gregory E. Lucyk, Esquire Chief Staff Attorney Supreme Court of Virginia Richmond, VA

Charlotte V. McNulty Executive Director Office of Comprehensive Services Richmond, VA

The Honorable Deborah M. Paxson Judge Juvenile and Domestic Relations District Court Virginia Beach, VA

James W. Stewart, III Commissioner Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services Richmond, VA

Byron Stith P.O. Box 1175 Mechanicsville, VA

F. Carol Ulrich, Esquire President NAMI-Northern Virginia Herndon, VA

Kevin Young, BSW, MHA, CBHE Corporate Director of Behavioral Health Neuroscience Center of Excellence Valley Health Winchester, VA

## Advisors

Katherine Acuff Health Policy Consultant Commission Editor Charlottesville, VA

Thomas L. Hafemeister, J.D., Ph.D. Associate Professor of Law University of Virginia School of Law Director of Legal Studies Charlottesville, VA

Catherine K. Hancock, APRN, BC Mental Health Policy Analyst Department of Medical Assistance Services Richmond, VA

Richard E. Hickman, Jr.
Deputy Staff Director
Senate Finance Committee
General Assembly Building, 10th Floor
Richmond, VA

James M. Martinez, Jr.
Director, Office of Mental Health Services
Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services
Richmond, VA

Susan Massart Legislative Fiscal Analyst House Appropriations Committee Richmond, VA

Raymond R. Ratke Special Advisor Children's Services Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services Richmond, VA

Allyson Tysinger, Esquire Senior Assistant Attorney General Office of the Attorney General Richmond, VA Steve Rosenthal, Esquire Troutman Sanders Richmond, VA

Staff Director
Joanne Rome
Staff Attorney
Supreme Court of Virginia
Richmond, VA