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Collection of Court ordered fines, Costs and Restitution

Pursuant to Rule 1:24 of the Rules of the Supreme Court of Virginia and Virginia Code Sections 19.2-349,
19.2-354 and 19.2-354.1, Halifax County Juvenile and Domestic Relations District Court’s collections
" policy shall be as stated below.

If paid in full within (90) days of trial date, then no further action is required.

If defendant requests additional time (beyond 90 days from trial date) pursuant to Virginia Code Section
19.2-354, then one-time $10.00 fee will be assessed to account and additional time granted.

When entering into a payment agreement on accounts previously in default, down payment is required
as follows:

1. If amount owed is $500.00 or less, then 10% of the total amount is owed;

2. Ifthe amount owed is $501.00 or more, then 5% of the total amount is owed.

Pursuant to Virginia Code Section 19.2-354.C, community service shall be permitted if requested in lieu
of fines and court costs. Amount owed divided by current minimum wage amount determines the hours
of community service. There is a requirement to perform a minimum of 16 to 20 hours per week, unless
in school, has valid medical excuse, or works part-time. Community service shall not be granted on any
amount owed for restitution. '

Pursuant to Virginia Code Section 19.2-354.1, any case in which the defendant owes fines and costs and
where such defendant’s sole financial resource is a social security benefit or supplemental security
income, such defendant shall be exempt from payment. This exemption shall not be granted on any
restitution owed.

Interest shall accrue 180 days after fines and costs assessed if defendant is not on an active payment
plan. All delinquent accounts will be transmitted to Virginia Department of Taxation for collection and
collection fee shall be added.



